Uncategorized Comments Off

University of Oregon Wrestling Fans and Alumni

Ron Finley
        Ron Finley

Len Kauffman wanted me to share the note below with you, concerning the induction of one of our distinguished alumni members, Dick Bellock, into the Oregon Chapter of the Wrestling Hall of Fame. The ceremony takes place May 3, 2014. This would be a great opportunity to support, congratulate, and renew friendships with former wrestlers and fans from the State of Oregon. Let’s have a big Oregon table for this big event.

For all the details, see Len’s note following my sign-off. Len also attached a reservation order form for those interested in attending. Thank you.

-Coach Ron Finley


The 20th annual Oregon Chapter, National Wrestling Hall of Fame, Honors Banquet is Saturday, May 3, 2014, at the Washington Square Embassy Suites Hotel. Social begins at 4:00 p.m., dinner at 6:30.

One Duck will be induced for Lifetime Service to Wrestling – Dick Bellock. Other Lifetime Service inductees are Joe Wells and Ron Sather, Doug Hislop and Wayne Snoderly. State Senator Frank Morse will be honored as Outstanding American from Oregon. Read short bios below for each inductee.

Please help us honor these fine individuals and celebrate their outstanding careers. Below is the reservation form (PDF file), which you may fill out online and then print. We expect a full house so please send your check and reservation form early.

Reservation Form

Hope to see you there.

Len Kauffman
OSU 1965

Outstanding American

Senator Frank Morse wrestled four years at Lebanon High School under legendary coach Dick Weisbrodt. After graduating from Northwest Christian University in 1966, he earned a Master’s degree from Oregon State University. In his professional career, he became president of Morse Brothers, Inc., retiring in 2000 and forming a new company, Environ-Metal, Inc. He was elected to the Oregon Senate in 2002 and re-elected in 2006 and 2010. Senator Morse was honored by the Oregon Business Association as 2010 Statesman-of-the-Year. He was a recipient of the OSU College of Business Distinguished Service Award was inducted into the OSU Engineering Hall of Fame in 2011.

Lifetime Service to Wrestling

Dick Bellock coached Waldo Middle School to nine consecutive undefeated dual meet seasons and lost only one dual meet in his ten years there. He started the wrestling programs at both McKay and West Salem high schools and served as athletic director at both new schools. He was head coach at McKay for twelve years and officiated wrestling eighteen years at the high school and collegiate levels.

Doug Hislop has been a wrestling coach and official for over 40 years. He served head coach at LaGrande Middle School and assistant coach at LaGrande High School. During his tenure at LaGrande High School, the Tigers won eleven district team championships and two OSAA team titles. Doug also directed the LaGrande Kid’s Wrestling Program for 28 years. He now serves as Imbler School District superintendent and head wrestling coach. He has served as commissioner of the Northeast Oregon Wrestling Officials Association since 1978.

Ron Sather has been a mainstay in Corvallis wrestling his entire life. After placing in state for the Corvallis Spartans, he enrolled at Oregon State where he lettered all four years and recorded 66 wins as a Beaver. He was runner-up in 1973 at the National Invitational Freestyle Championships. Returning to Corvallis High in 1980, Sather was assistant coach for 8 years and head coach for 23 years. His teams won 224 dual meets. His wrestlers won five individual OSSA State titles, three of those in 2008. He is co-founder of the Orange Crush Wrestling Club.

Wayne Snoderly was a state champion at David Douglas High School. He returned to his alma mater in 1989 and helped the Scots win four Mt. Hood conference championships. He was an assistant for five years before becoming head coach in 1993, a position he held until 2007. He returned in 2009 as an assistant coach and helped David Douglas win the 2013 Oregon 6-A state team title. Snoderly started the David Douglas Youth Wrestling program in 1994 that continues today.

Joe Wells spent half of his coaching career in Oregon, guiding Oregon State as head coach for fourteen years. In 1994, the Beavers won the Pacific-10 conference title and placed fourth in NCAA tournament. The following year, Wells’ team finished second at nationals with four All-Americans. Before heading west, Wells coached at the high school level for three years and then thirteen years as an assistant at the University of Michigan. He was named national Assistant-Coach-of-the-Year in 1988. Joe served as assistant coach of the U.S. Olympic teams in 1988 and 1992, and was the U.S. team freestyle coach at the 1990 World Championships.

Uncategorized Comments Off

The former Duck finished second at the NCAA meet in 1980

by Mark Johnson, The Register Guard

Scott Bliss, a two-time all-American wrestler at the University of Oregon in the late 1970s and early 1980s, died Dec. 12 at age 56. The cause of death was not disclosed by his family.

Bliss, who had been living in his hometown of Othello, Wash., holds the UO record with 120 career victories. He earned all-American status twice at 150 pounds, first as a sophomore in 1978 when he placed sixth at the NCAA Championships and again as a senior in 1980 when he placed second.

“He definitely was one of the best wrestlers we’ve had,” former Oregon coach Ron Finley said Tuesday. “He was really talented … one of the hardest workers.

“He lived out in South Eugene up on a hill, and he would run to school everyday and run back every night to stay in shape. He also was very intelligent when it came to wrestling. And he was just tough.”

Bliss made just as big a mark in the wrestling community after graduating, according to his brother, John. Scott Bliss went on to compete in the World University Games (1981); was a member of the USA World Wrestling team (1981); became the youngest collegiate head wrestling coach in the country at Montana, where he was named Big Sky coach of the year in 1986; was WAC coach of the year after moving to Wyoming in 1987; and won two Washington state championships coaching at Auburn High School, in 1994 and 1996.

After his coaching stint at Wyoming, Bliss became an assistant coach at Oregon State, where he found himself in recruiting battles with his former coach. Finley said Bliss “learned so fast and really understood wrestling and all the things that went with it. He had a great personality for recruiting and was just great working with other people.

“He out-recruited me on one of the best wrestlers (OSU) ever had — Babak Mohammadi,” Finley said.

“I can remember, I went to get Mohammadi’s signature on a letter of intent at 8 o’clock in the morning and Scott had already been there — and he got it.” Mohammadi became a four-time all-American for the Beavers.

Bliss is survived by his sons, Jacob and Nolan, and his former wife, Cindy Richman, all of Spokane. A memorial service is scheduled for 11 a.m. Saturday at Othello First Presbyterian Church.

(Reprinted with permission from The Register Guard)

Oregon Scholarships

Scholarship Fund 2015
Goal:  $20,000
donation thermometer
donation thermometer
donation thermometer

Fight Ladder

Who's the CHAMPION
in your weight class?

New User Registration


Who's Online

We have 5 guests online